SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA  COUNTY OF TEHAMA
Superior Court of California County of Tehama
THE GREAT SEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
HOME CONTACT US Courthouse Directions and Hours of Operation FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS Employment Opportunities Site Map
THE GREAT SEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA  
Seal of California
General Information
Traffic
Criminal
Civil & Famil Law
Small Claims
Family Court Services
Probate Court
Juvenile
Jury Services
Calendars
Online Case Index
Self Help
Useful Links
Navigation

Jury Information

Quick Links
  LINK Disqualification from Jury Service
  LINK Request for Excuse
  LINK Term of Service
  LINK Proof of Service / Work Certificates
  LINK Juror Payment
  LINK Jury Service FAQ's
DISQUALIFICATIONS FROM JURY SERVICE

Valid reasons for a person to be disqualified are:
  • Persons who are not citizens of the United States
  • Persons who do not understand the English language
  • Persons who are less than 18 years of age
  • Persons who are not residents of the County of Tehama
  • Persons who have been convicted of a felony, or malfeasance of office, and their rights have not been restored
  • Now serving as a Grand Juror or have served as a trial juror within the last two years
  • Persons who are the subject of a conservatorship

If you receive a summons and are requesting disqualification, mark on your summons all the reasons that apply, sign and date the bottom of the form and return it to the Jury Office no later than five (5) days from receipt of the summons.

Back to top

REQUEST FOR EXCUSE

To be excused from Jury Service, you must meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • Persons that have a physical or mental impairment and jury duty would expose them to undue risk of mental or physical harm may be excused, but they must provide doctor's letter stating that an impairment exists.
  • A verifiable full-time obligation to care for a sick or aged dependent. (Doctor's letter must be included.)
  • Peace officer, as defined in Penal Code Sections 830.1 (a), 830.2 (b) (c), does not include correctional officers.
  • On active duty with the US Military.
  • Nursing mother.

If you receive a summons and need to be excused from Jury Service, mark the appropriate box on the Jury Summons, sign and date the bottom of the form and return it to the Jury Office no later than five (5) days from receipt of the summons.

Back to top

TERM OF SERVICE

In Tehama County, if you have appeared for a trial, whether you are chosen as a juror or not, then you are excused from Jury Duty for two years. If you receive a summons and the trial is cancelled, then your name is returned to the jury pool, and you are still eligible to be called as a Juror.

Back to top

PROOF OF SERVICE / WORK CERTIFICATIONS

The Jury Office will provide proof of completion of service for the juror's employer. These forms can be provided daily, weekly, or at the end of a juror's service. Please contact the Jury Office at 633 Washington Street, Room 13 or at 530-527-3946. These forms can be faxed to the employer if requested.

Back to top

JUROR PAYMENT

Effective July 1, 2000, jurors are paid a daily fee of $15.00 per day beginning on the second day of service. Payment shall continue for each day or part of a day a juror serves until released by the judge. Jurors shall also be paid mileage one-way at the rate of .34 cents per mile from the court location to the prospective jurors' place of residence for every day they perform jury duty. The State Legislature sets, by statue, the minimum amounts jurors are to be paid.

Jurors serving on a trial are paid upon completion of the trial. Generally, jurors should receive payment within two to four weeks of completion of service.

Back to top

INFORMATION FOR EMPLOYERS

Labor Code Section 230 (a) states: "An employer may not discharge or in any manner discriminate against an employee for taking time off to serve as required by law on an inquest, jury or trial jury, if the employee, prior to taking the time off, gives reasonable notice to the employer that he or she is required to serve."

By law, jury summons are required to be mailed ten days in advance of a juror's beginning date. Please notify your employer you have been summoned to perform jury duty as soon as you receive your summons.

For those employers who have questions or concerns about their role in jury duty, an employee brochure is available in the Jury Office. Any employers with further questions are encouraged to contact the Jury Office at 530-527-3946.