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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA
COUNTY OF TEHAMA
LOCAL RULES OF COURT

SECTION1. GENERALRULES

RULE 1. CITATION OF RULES -- EFFECTIVE DATE
These rules are effective on the date above and shall be known and cited as the "Local

Rules of Court™ for the Tehama County Superior Court.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 2. REQUIRED ATTORNEY NOTIFICATION FOR
UNOPPOSED AND DROPPED MATTERS

If an attorney will not oppose a motion filed by opposing counsel or if the moving

counsel decides to drop the matter from calendar, that attorney shall promptly so

notify opposing counsel and the Court Executive Officer. Violation of this rule may

subject the attorney to sanctions.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 3. COURT REPORTERS

A. Criminal / Juvenile Dependency / Juvenile Delinquency: Court reporters

are provided for juvenile dependency proceedings (Welfare and Institutions Code §
300 et seq.), juvenile delinquency proceedings (Welfare and Institutions Code § 602
et seq.), and felony proceedings. In criminal matters other than felonies, court

reporters are not available at the expense of the Court. In lieu thereof, a recording
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system is available for misdemeanor or infraction cases pursuant to Penal Code §
1045 upon direct request to the Clerk of the Court no later than five days in advance
of the proceedings to be recorded. Court reporters may be used in criminal, non-
felony cases, but they shall be obtained by, and at the expense of, the party
requesting a reporter.

B. Non Criminal Matters: Court reporters are not provided at the expense of

the Court. In accordance with California Rules of Court (currently Rule 2.956) each
party to a civil trial as defined in said rule must serve and file a statement seven
calendar days in advance of the trial date stating whether that party requests the
presence of an official court reporter. Parties requesting an official court reporter in a
civil trial will be charged court reporter fees in accordance with California Rules of
Court. Parties requesting an official court reporter for the trial of a civil case will be
required to deposit fees for the anticipated length of the trial or a full-day fee,
whichever is less, at the time of filing said statement. Request for a reporter may be
made on the record at the time of setting, and fees shall be due on the day of that
request.

Counsel should check with the Court for a fee schedule of court reporter fees, which
fees are in addition to any other trial court fees required by law or rule. As of the
adoption of these rules, court reporter fees are: $30 for hearings of up to and
including one hour, $187 per half day, and $374 per day. A half day fee is charged
for any proceeding lasting more than one hour, and a full day fee is charged for any
proceeding lasting more than four hours. The parties shall deposit their pro rata share
of such fees as follows: (1) For hearings of less than one day, at the close of the
proceeding; (2) For hearings of more than one day, at the beginning of the second and
each succeeding day of the proceeding. Any fee waiver request must be submitted as

early as possible and at least one day prior to the proceeding in question.
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A failure to post fees as required may result in a discontinuance of the proceeding,
an absence of a court reporter at the proceeding, a court order or citation to the

attorney who failed to pay, or such other orders as necessary.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 4. PHOTOGRAPHING OR RECORDING COURT
PROCEEDINGS
Photographing or recording any court proceeding is prohibited unless a written

request made in advance of the proceeding is provided and approved pursuant to law.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 5. RESTRAINING ORDERS
1. General. Restraining orders shall be governed by the California Code and
Rules, except as clarified below.

2. Ex-Parte Orders. A party seeking an ex-parte order must notify all parties no

later than 10:00 a.m. the court day before the ex-parte appearance, absent a showing of
exceptional circumstances that justify a shorter time for notice. The person giving
such notice shall state with specificity the nature of the relief to be requested and the
date, time, and place for the presentation of the application; and shall attempt to
determine whether the opposing party will appear to oppose the application. The
declaration regarding notice shall include the date, time, and manner of notice, and
shall identify the name of the party informed and any response. If notice was not
completed, the declaration shall further state that the applicant in good faith attempted
to inform the opposing party but was unable to do so, specifying the efforts made to
inform the opposing party or that, for reasons specified, the applicant should not be

required to inform the opposing party. A judge makes determinations re notice, and no
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clerk shall reject a filing because of inadequate notice. (Current California Rules of
Court controlling notice include: 3.1203 — 3.1205)
3. Duty of Party Requesting Order. Any party seeking a restraining order

(temporary, preliminary or permanent and including but not limited to Domestic
Violence and Harassment restraining orders) shall in its first filed paper identify any
unexpired restraining orders [criminal, family law, juvenile, and orders of any other
court] in which any party requesting relief has: (1) previously obtained a restraining
order against any other party and (2) previously been restrained by any other party.
The Court may issue sanctions against any party not complying with this requirement.
4. Conflict. Current California Rule of Court, Rule 5.450, is referenced as to
conflicts. Courts issuing restraining orders shall make reasonable efforts to determine
whether there are any current, unexpired restraining orders against or in favor of any

party seeking relief.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 6. CASE DISPOSITION TIME STANDARDS AND GOALS
Consistent with existing law, it is the policy of this Court to encourage prompt
disposition of all matters. Attorneys shall promptly complete discovery and motions
towards the end of completing cases within the following time limits. Attorneys must

show good cause, in writing, to exempt a case from delay reduction standards.

A. Case Disposition Standards: The standard sought for all cases is as follows:

(1) Civil Cases: Within one year of filing unless the Court designates the
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completion date as two or three years.
(2) Misdemeanor Cases: Within 90 days of the defendant’s first court appearance.
(3) Preliminary Hearings: Within 10 calendar days or 60 court days from the
defendant’s first appearance.
(4) Felony Trials: Except for capital cases, within 60 days of the defendant’s

arraignment on the information.

B. Case Disposition Goals: Consistent with the California Rules of Court and the Case

Disposition Standards cited above, the goal of this Court is to complete all civil cases as
follows. Civil completion goals are measured from the date of filing. Criminal
completion goals are measured from the date of arraignment.
(1) Unlimited civil cases: (a) 75 percent within 12 months; (b) 85 percent within
18 months; and (c) 100 percent within 24 months.
(2) Limited civil cases: (a) 90 percent within 12 months; (b) 98 percent within 18
months; and (c) 100 percent within 24 months.
(3) Small claims cases: (a) 90 percent within 75 days; and (b) 100 percent within
100 days.

(4) Felony trials: Except for capital cases, no more than one year after arraignment
on the information.

(5) Preliminary Hearings, from arraignment on the complaint and excluding death
penalty cases: (a) 90 percent within 30 days; (b) 98 percent within 45 days;
and (c) 100 percent within 90 days;

(6) Misdemeanor cases: (a) 90 percent within 30 days; (b) 98 percent within 90
days; and (c) 100 percent within 120 days.
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These case management goals are guidelines. In managing individual civil cases, the
Court will consider each case on its merits. To enable the fair and efficient resolution of
civil cases, each case should be set for trial as soon as appropriate for that individual

case.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

SECTION 2. CIVIL CASES

RULE 7. SERVICE, RESPONSE, AND DEFAULT
Service and response shall be as follows, unless specifically required or allowed to the
contrary by Code or Court Rule.

A. Documents Not Served by Summons: All matters commenced by service of

a document other than a summons (i.e. Orders to Show Cause, motions, writs, etc.) and
any responsive papers shall be served and filed pursuant to the California Codes and
Court Rules. Any responsive papers to a motion or an Order to Show Cause shall be
filed and served at least five days before the hearing.

B. Documents Served by Summons: All filings served by summons (i.e. civil

suits, dissolution petitions, etc.) shall be served and proof of service shall be filed with
the Court within 60 days of initial filing. Service shall include, and the proof of service
shall note service of, all documents required by Code or Rule to be served with the
summons. The filing of a cross-complaint shall be accompanied by proof of service on
existing parties; new parties shall be served and proof of service filed within 30 days of
filing the cross-complaint.

C. Response to Actions Initiated by Summons: Responses to actions initiated

by summons shall be within 30 days of service, and the parties shall have the power to
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stipulate to one 15 day extension.

D. Court Ability to Modify: The Court, on its own motion or on the application

of a party, may extend or otherwise modify the times provided in this rule. An
application for a court order extending the time to serve a pleading shall be filed before
the time for service has elapsed. The application shall be accompanied by a declaration
showing why service has not been completed, documenting the efforts that have been
made to complete service, and specifying the date by which service is proposed to be
completed.

E. Entry of Default: If no response has been filed, and the parties have not

agreed on an extension of time to respond, a request to enter default should be submitted
within 60 days after the date the response was due.

F. Judgment: A party who enters a default against any party shall finalize the
judgment against the defaulted party within 45 days of the entry of default, absent
specific extension by the Court.

G. Sanctions: The Court may issue an order to show cause why sanctions

should not be imposed for any failure to follow the mandates of this rule.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 8. CONTINUANCES

Motions to continue, advance or reset shall be made on written notice to all parties
who have appeared, and shall be noticed for hearing at the Civil Law and Motion
calendar. Motions for continuance of a trial date shall be noticed promptly upon the
necessity for continuance being ascertained. No continuance will be granted except
upon an affirmative showing of good cause. This rule does not disallow a stipulation

by the parties, but such stipulation does not result in a change of time limits unless a
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judge accepts said stipulation.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 9. DUTIES IF CASE SETTLES

Whenever a case assigned a trial date settles, the attorneys or in pro per parties shall
immediately notify the Court. Primary obligation to notify the Court shall be plaintiff's
through his or her attorney or, if in pro per, in person. Notification may be by
telephone to the clerk, but, in such case, shall be followed within five days by a
confirming letter copied to all parties and the Court. Notification of settlement to the
Court shall result in the vacating of any trial date and the removal of the action from
the master calendar and civil active list. A future existing case management
conference will be left on calendar, and if there is none the Court shall set one. The
purpose of the post settlement case management conference is to assure that the case
has been dismissed or judgment entered. Parties need not appear at such case
management conference if the entire matter has been dismissed or if a judgment has

been filed that finally settles all issues.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 10. ATTORNEY FEES IN CIVIL ACTIONS OR PROCEEDINGS
Whenever a prevailing party is entitled to the recovery of reasonable attorney fees,
those fees will be fixed by reasonable compensation computed on an hourly basis.
When fees are to be fixed by court fee schedule they shall be as follows, exclusive of
costs and interest.

1. 25% of the first two thousand dollars ($2,000);

2. 20% of the next four thousand dollars ($4,000);

3. 15% of the next four thousand dollars ($4,000);
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4. 10% of the next ten thousand dollars ($10,000);

5. 5% of the next thirty thousand dollars ($30,000); and

6. 2% of amounts in excess of the first fifty thousand dollars ($50,000).
A request for fees in excess of this schedule shall be allowed only upon legal
authority and a declaration provided by the prevailing supporting same. Where a
prevailing party is entitled to the recovery of reasonable attorney fees in an
otherwise appropriate clerk's judgment, the clerk shall include attorney fees

computed pursuant to the fee schedule contained in this rule.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 11. CASE MANAGEMENT - SETTLEMENT CONFERENCE
A. Case Management Conferences

All attorneys shall attend scheduled case management conferences in person or by
telephone, and all parties shall have a completed case management statement filed and
served at least five days before the case management conference. The initial case
management date shall be provided by the Court to each party making an initial filing,
and that party shall serve notice of the first case management conference on all served
parties; parties filing a cross-complaint shall notify each cross-defendant of the next
case management conference. Each case management conference shall address the
disposition goals set out in these rules and shall include plans to achieve those goals.
Each case management conference shall conclude with an order identifying a further
case management conference until the matter has been declared at issue.

B. Settlement Conferences

(1) Setting and Attendance: Upon setting a jury trial or a court trial set for

one day or more, a mandatory settlement conference shall be set approximately one
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month before trial; the Court may set further settlement conferences. These conferences
are mandatory and shall be attended by the parties, by the trial attorney, and by any
person(s) who has (have) full authority to settle the case.

(2) Settlement Conference Statement: At least five days before the
settlement conference, each party shall serve and file a settlement conference statement,
which shall identify the positions of the various parties, shall include settlement
positions and demands, shall itemize economic and noneconomic damages, and shall
recite a brief summary of the facts and law upon which the filing party relies. Parties
are hereby notified that settlement conferences often require significant investment of
time, and parties shall be available for the entire day of a scheduled settlement
conference unless otherwise directed by the court.

(3) Sanctions: The settlement conference judge may issue sanctions for
failure to comply with rules applying to settlement conferences. Said sanctions may
include striking out all or any part of any pleading of the offending party and/or
dismissal of the action or striking an answer to allow default. If the motion for
sanctions is made by a party, the Court may allow attorney fees and costs relating
thereto. Terminating sanctions shall be used only after the Court has directed a party to
remedy the failure to comply with the rules. Terminating sanctions shall not be used
against a party as a result of the failure of counsel to comply with rules, and the Court in
such case shall take appropriate action against the offending counsel.

C. Tentative Rulings: Should any judge adopt the practice of making tentative

rulings, such rulings shall be accomplished per Rule of Court, currently Rule 3.1308.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]
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RULE 12. SANCTIONS
Sanctions in civil cases may be assessed per existing law and rule (including current

Rule 2.30, CCP 177.5, CCP 575.2).
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 13. MEDIATION AND JUDICIAL ARBITRATION
The Court hereby elects to apply Title 11.6 of Part 3 of the Code of Civil Procedure

commencing at § 1775 to general civil actions filed in the court.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 14. FACSIMILE FILING
Fax filing is permitted and shall be accomplished pursuant to law and California Rules

of Court (currently Rule 2.303).
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 15. SCHEDULING EX-PARTE MOTIONS AND
APPLICATIONS

To secure a date and time for hearing ex-parte motions and other ex-parte applications

for which personal appearances are required consistent with the California Rules of

Court, the party making the application shall contact the judicial secretary for the

bench officer in whose department the matter is to be heard or the Court Executive

Officer.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]
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RULE 16. PAYMENT OR WAIVER OF FEES

Fee waivers shall be granted under the provisions of sections 68630 through 68641 of
the Government Code or successor statutes. The Court grants to the Court Executive
Officer or her designated clerk the power to approve fee waivers which qualify under
the law. (G.C. 8 68634) Should the law allow disapproving of same, then the C.E.O. is

authorized to disapprove fee waivers.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 17. CLAIMS FOR PAYMENT TO COURT APPOINTED
COUNSEL AND EXPERTS

As to attorney fees, this rule does not apply to any counsel who works under a contract

with the County or the Court unless that counsel seeks payment in addition to sum

certain stated in the contract. This rule applies to any counsel in any court who seeks

the appointment of an expert.

A. Court Appointed Counsel

Any counsel appointed by any judge in any court under any California Statute or Court
Rule who claims reimbursement separate from and in addition to any contract
consideration, shall include in his/her claim for payment all of the following: The date
of appointment; the case number(s) of appointed cases; the name of the appointed client
(except in juvenile cases); the date and inclusive times of work billed; the total hours
and minutes (or fractions of an hour) billed for each entry, a clear and concise
description of the work done. Further counsel should ask for a copy of and comply with
the most current court requirements for attorney billing. Rounding up in billings shall
be no more than to the next 2/10ths of an hour, and in all cases shall be reasonable in

the discretion of the Court.
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B. Court Appointed Experts

Experts are paid the reasonable value of services. No payment will be made unless
counsel first obtains the consent of the Court to retain the expert. A request that asks
for an expert merely to explore the file will not be granted. Any application for
appointment of an expert shall be by declaration of counsel and shall include at least the
following:

1. The file number(s) and party name(s) (except in Juvenile appointments);

2. The type of service being requested,;

3. Why such services are reasonably necessary to the case of counsel’s client,

which reason must be as specific as it can be as to how the expert may assist and

in criminal cases specifically what defense he might help establish.

4. The identity, billing address, hourly rate, any flat charges that may apply;

5. A statement of the expert’s qualifications to provide the requested services;

6. An estimate of total cost of services should be included where possible;

7. If the expert is required by law to possess a license or other qualification, then

the application must identify the license or qualification, the date it was obtained,

the office or institution from which that license or qualification was obtained,

and a statement that the expert is current and in good standing there under.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]
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SECTION3. FAMILY LAW CASES

RULE 18. CIVIL RULES/FAMILY LAW APPLY UNLESS
CONTRADICTED
A. General: The rules for civil cases shall apply unless contradicted by more
specific family law statutes and rules. These rules do not attempt to repeat all family
law and California Rules of Court which apply to family law; parties are referred
thereto.

B. Appointment of Counsel for a Child: Appointments of counsel for a child

shall be in the trial court’s discretion as described in and subject to California Rule of
Court, Rule 5.240 or its successor rule. Any complaint concerning such appointed
counsel shall be made in writing to the Court Executive Office, shall clearly identify the
name of complainant and the alleged facts underlying the complaint. The Court shall

respond within 15 days of receipt of such complaint.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 19. EVALUATORS AND CHILD CUSTODY
RECOMMENDING COUNSELORS (CCRC, formerly
referred to as mediators)

A. Evaluators (custody/visitation)
If an evaluator is appointed, he or she shall be provided prior to commencing the

evaluation process with a copy of the court order which specifies the appointment of the
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evaluator under relevant statutes, including the following statutes in effect at the time of
adoption of these rules: Evidence Code § 730, Family Code § 3110, or CCP § 2032.
The evaluator shall comply with this rule and applicable law and shall submit form FL-
326 (or its successor form) with regard to training and educational requirements. Any
fees proper under law shall be assessed and apportioned by the judge managing the
case.

B. Mandatory Mediation

Absent a finding of good cause to the contrary, all matters pertaining to custody
and/or visitation shall be referred to the Child Custody Recommending Counselor
(CCRC) at the earliest possible time. Court designated Child Custody Recommending
Counselors are hereby authorized to render a recommendation to the court as to the
custody or visitation of the child or children, involved. The Court may, without
foundation, consider the report and recommendation of the CCRC. Parties referred to
mediation shall attend the Parent Orientation class and shall promptly keep all
appointments with the mediator and make a good faith effort to come to an agreement
on custody and visitation. Notice of appointment may be accomplished by service on
the CCRC and parties of the minute order appointing him/her. In court notice to an
appearing party is sufficient without written notice. Any appointed CCRC shall adhere
to Code and California Rules pertaining to mediators.

C. Investigation by the Mediator

The court "mediator" is a ""court appointed investigator" as that term is used in Family
Code § 3110. The mediator may, without further court order, conduct an investigation
regarding the issues of child custody and visitation pursuant to Family Code § 3110 et
seg. in any proceeding where the parties fail to agree on the issues of custody and

visitation or where it may otherwise be warranted.
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D. Mediator: Ex-Parte Communications

As more fully stated in the Rule 5.235 of the California Rules of Court, when ex-parte
communications are permitted by the mediator, any such communications shall be in
writing and shall be served on opposing party. This requirement does not apply to
communications by parties made to the mediator during a mediation session or to ex-
parte communications initiated by the mediator.

E. Removal / Withdrawal of the Mediator

The mediator may remove herself from a case should mediation ethics require. The
assignment of a mediator being a court function, there shall be no challenge allowed to
the mediator by a party unless same is specifically allowed by law. The Director of
Family Court Services, the Court Executive Officer, the Presiding Judge, or the judge
presiding over the proceedings may in his/her discretion permit another CCRC to
conduct mediation, which may be a mediator from another court, a probation officer, or
such other person whom the Director, C.E.O. or judge finds qualified to act as mediator.

F. Recommendations of the Child Custody Recommending Counselor (CCRC)

The mediator is authorized to render a recommendation to the Court re custody and
visitation. The Court may, without foundation, consider the report and recommendation
of the mediator.

G. Challenges to the Mediator

Statutes, case law, and the California Rules of Court (including Rule 5.450) control any
challenge to a court appointed evaluator, except as they may be augmented by these
rules. Complaints concerning an evaluator shall be submitted in writing to the Family
Court Services Director who is designated as the complaint coordinator. Complaints
shall be in writing and shall be served on opposing counsel and on self represented

litigants. Such complaints shall be evaluated and appropriate action taken within 10
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days of receipt. There shall be no ex-parte communications with the mediator except as
specifically requested by the mediator. Parties should inquire of and use any complaint

form maintained by the Director.

H. Testimony / Confidentiality of File

Should any party seek to examine the mediator at a hearing regarding a mediator
recommendation, it shall be that party’s responsibility to secure the mediator’s
attendance as a witness. Any information received by the mediator including, but not
limited to, information included in the mediation report shall be confidential and may
be disclosed by the mediator only as necessary to continue his/her investigation, to

complete his/her report, and to testify in any court hearing.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

SECTION 4. CRIMINAL CASES

RULE 20. MOTIONS AT TRIAL

Motions that are out of the ordinary or unusual (e.g. complex motions or extensive
motions in limine) shall be made in writing and scheduled to be heard before the
judge assigned to the trial no less than five days before trial. All motions that may not
be heard and disposed of within % hour on the morning of trial must be so scheduled.
Should there be no department assigned to try the case, then such motions shall be
made to the misdemeanor Law and Motion calendar for misdemeanors or to the

felony Law and Motion calendar for felonies.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]
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RULE 21. CRIMINAL JURY INSTRUCTIONS

Jury instructions shall comply with the California Rules of Court and, unless stipulated
to the contrary by all parties and accepted by the trial judge, shall be CALCRIM
instructions. The parties shall provide their requested instructions, with one separate
copy for the Court and one separate copy for each opposing counsel, on the morning of
the first day of trial unless the trial judge has directed to the contrary. No instruction
shall identify the party making the request. Special instructions shall be accompanied by
points and authorities separate from the proposed instruction. All blanks on form

instructions shall be filled in so that the proposed instruction is complete.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 22. PRELIMINARY HEARINGS

It is the policy of this Court to expedite preliminary hearings. Motions to continue the
preliminary examination are disfavored and shall be denied unless the moving party,
pursuant to and in accordance with Penal Code 81050 and the particular statutes
pertaining to continuances of preliminary examinations, presents affirmative proof that
the ends of justice require a continuance. A stipulation by all parties to continue the
preliminary examination does not constitute good cause, by itself. Substitution of
counsel does not automatically constitute good cause for a continuance; counsel should

not take cases on which they are not prepared to timely proceed.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]
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SECTION 5. PROBATE AND CONSERVATORSHIP

RULE 23. RELIANCE ON STATE LAW AND RULES
The Court does not elect to create local rules at this time. California statutes, case law,

and the California Rules of Court should be consulted by parties.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

SECTION 6. JUVENILE COURT RULES

RULE 24. LOCAL RULES DO NOT SUPPLEMENT STATE LAW

Statutory law, case law, and the California Rules of Court extensively regulate the
Dependency (Welfare and Institutions Code, § 300) and Delinquency (Welfare and
Institutions Code, § 602) actions brought before the Court. Counsel shall refer to those
sources for guidance. Nothing in this rule prevents the Juvenile Presiding Judge or any
Juvenile Judge from establishing additional policies and procedures that do not violate

state law and rules.
[effective date: January 1, 2013]

RULE 24.1. CASA
A. Adoption of CASA Program
1. The court hereby adopts the guidelines for the Court Appointed
Special Advocate Program (CASA) as more particularly set forth
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B. RE
1.

in Welfare and Institutions Code Sections 100 through 109,
inclusive, and Rule 5.655 of the California Rules of Court.

The CASA Program shall report regularly to the presiding judge of
the Juvenile court with evidence that it is operating under the
guidelines established by the National Court Appointed Special
Advocate Association and the California State Guideliness for
child advocates.

LEASE OF INFORMATION TO CASA

To accomplish the appointment of a CASA, the judge,
commissioner or referee making the appointment shall sign an
order granting the CASA the authority to review specific relevant
documents and interview parties involved in the case, as well as
other persons having significant information relating to the child,
to the same extent as any other officer appointed to investigate
proceedings on behalf of the court.

The CASA shall have the same legal right to records relating to the
child her or she is appointed to represent as any case manager
(social worker or probation officer) regarding records pertaining to
the child held by an agency, school, organization, division or
department of the State, physician, surgeon, nurse, other health
care provider, psychologist, psychiatrist, mental health provider or
law enforcement agency. The CASA shall present a copy of his or
her appointment order together with his or her identification to
provider to gain access to the requested information. No consent

from the parent or guardian is necessary for the CASA to have
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access to any records relating to the child.
C. RIGHT TO TIMELY NOTICE AND RIGHT TO APPEAR

1. Whenever any motion is made, or a supplemental or subsequent
petition filed, concerning the child for whom the CASA has been
appointed, the moving party shall provide the CASA with timely
notice.

2. A CASA shall have the right to be present and be heard at all court
hearings, and shall not be subject to exclusion by virtue of the fact
that he or she may be called to testify at some point in the
proceedings. A CASA is not a party to the dependency
proceedings. However, the court, at its discretion, shall have the
authority to grant the CASA amicus curiae status, which includes
the right to appear with counsel.

D. CALENDAR PRIORITY
In light of the fact that CASASs are rendering a volunteer service to
children and the court, matters on which they appear should be granted
priority on the court’s calendar whenever possible.
E. CASA REPORTS
CAGSA reports shall be filed with the court at least three (3) court days
prior to the hearing. The CASA program shall provide a copy of the
report to all counsel of record at least three (3) court days before the
hearing.

[effective date: January 1, 2015]
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SECTION 7. APPEALS

RULE 25 RECORD ON APPEAL - TRIAL COURT FILE INSTEAD OF
CLERK’S TRANSCRIPT

In accordance with California Rules of Court, Rules 8.833, 8.863 and 8.914, the

appellate division elects to use the original trial court file in lieu of a clerk’s transcript

on appeal in appeals of limited civil, misdemeanor and information cases.

In accordance with California Rules of Court, Rules 8.916, 8.917 and 8.860 et seq., the

original of an official electronic recording of the trial court proceedings, or a copy made

by the court, shall be transmitted as the record of these oral proceedings without being

transcribed. This official electronic recording satisfies any requirement in these rules or

In any statute for a repoter’s tanscript of these proceedings. The trial court judge may

order that a transcript be prepared as the record of the oral proceedings.
[effective date: January 1, 2015]
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ALPHABETICAL SUBJECT MATTER INDEX

Appeals

Attending settlement conferences
Attorney fees in civil actions

CASA

Case disposition goals and standards
Case Management

CCRC (see child custody recommending counselors)

Challenge of the mediator

Child custody recommending counselors
Citation to and name of rules

Civil cases in general

Civil rules in family law cases
Conferences (civil)

Conservatorships

Continuances

Counsel (appointed)

Counsel, appointed for child in family law cases
Court appointed counsel

Court appointed experts

Court reporters

Criminal court, motions before trial
Criminal matters (court reporter)
Default, entry

Documents not served by summons
Documents served by summons
Ex-parte applications

Ex-parte communications to mediator or CCRC
Ex-parte orders

Experts (appointed)

Facsimile filing
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Family law cases

Fees, waiver

General rules

Index to rules

Investigation by the mediator
Judgment, entry

Judicial Arbitration

Jury instructions, criminal trials
Juvenile Court

Juvenile matters (court reporter)
Mandatory mediation, family law
Mediation

Mediation

Mediator

Mediator, challenge

Mediator, ex parte communication
Mediator, recommendations
Mediator, removal

Mediator, testimony

Motions before trial, criminal trials
Notice when matter is unopposed
Photographing court proceedings
Preliminary hearings

Probate

Recommendation of the CCRC (mediator)
Recording court proceedings
Removal of the mediator
Responses to summons
Restraining orders

Sanctions relating to settlement conferences
Sanctions in general

Sanctions

Service

Settlement conference statement
Settlement Conferences
Settlement, duty to advise court
Tentative rulings

Testimony of the mediator

Time for service (civil)
Unopposed matter

Waiver of fees
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